Sunday, grocery day here.  I dread the process, but when it’s all said and done, it is well worth the time invested.

What process do I mean?  I mean the time spent making a menu for the week (I highly recommend doing this), figuring out what ingredients we need, making the grocery list in just the right aisle order.   I started making a weekly menu several years ago, and I find it a great help mentally and physically since I work full-time and don’t want to stop at the grocery story daily.

So I take the time over the weekend to make the menu, what will we eat each night for dinner?  Who is home, and when do we need a quick meal vs. a nicer meal prepared?   Once this is done and I tackle the grocery store (I have tips for that experience too!), I make one or two of the meals for the week, and know I have everything else I need for the rest of the week.  Organization is key to success in my book, and this is the ultimate in meal prep organization.

This also ensures that we will eat more decent meals and have a more balanced menu.  When I don’t take the time to do this, I find that we just eat on the fly or make quick easy meals that may not be so healthy.  That makes for more chaos in the house with all of us eating different things at times, and we are often left not eating so well.

Another benefit of being organized in advance, is that I get to look up and try new recipes.  I get tired of making the same old meals.  I trust Allrecipes for  ideas and tried and true meal ideas.  What’s not to love when each meal is rated by those who have made it.  I find the reviews are spot on, and provide a way to really make the dish great.

As the saying goes, “A stitch in time saves nine,”   a timely effort will prevent more work later.

