The Christmas rush is through, and all guests have left.  It has been a wonderful whirlwind of a weekend.  We entertained on Saturday night (Christmas Eve) for the first night of Hanukkah, then on Christmas night with another family we are friends with, then my family arrived the night of the 26th.  That included three of my siblings and their kids, a total of 11 people, add that to my 4, making 15 in the house for two nights!  We call it mayhem, and we love it.  The kids don’t get to be together all that often, so it is very special when they do.  As for us adults, we cherish any time we can spend together since we do live far apart and are getting older and have learned to appreciate one another more.

My husband and kids always go skiing for a few days during this week.  I prefer to stay home after the hustle and bustle of the Christmas season, and after all the entertaining this week.  They just left this afternoon, after all the guests.  My husband  went to work for a few hours, and my kids helped clean the house a bit.  Our motto this week has been “many hands makes light work”.  My kids actually saw that in action this weekend as we all pitched in together to make every event run smooth.  They worked hard and developed an appreciation for all that we do when we entertain and take care of the household.  They saw how much work is involved, and learned to appreciate that all hands on deck makes life so much better for all.   Anyway,  I now have three glorious days to myself, with the dog of course.  Ahhhh….peace and quiet…solitude…after all the mayhem and Christmas rush; the shopping, cooking, cleaning, entertaining, socializing, etc.   All of those things are good and fun, but it is nice also to have some down time!

Time to slow down, take a few deep breaths, contemplate how lucky I am, think of all the people in my life I have to be grateful for.  Take some time to do a few things that I have needed to do for a while, like clean out messy drawers, call a friend and go to lunch, catch up on laundry, watch  chick-flick on the couch by the fire while cuddled with the dog!  Have I pictured the perfect scene?  Well that is what I hope to create at least once these next few days.  Get yourself up and out and do the same.  Carve some time out for yourself.  As my daughter says for fun, ” treat yourself.”

That’s a wrap for now, until we meet again…keep busy and enjoy the last of 2016!

 

 

 

