Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanza, and just happy everything!  As it turns out, all three holidays are happening at the same exact time this year.  Hanukkah and Christmas started the same day, Christmas eve , and Kwanza the day after Christmas day.  That has only  happened 4 times in the last 100 years.  The next time they start on the same day won’t be until 2024.

At this time of year I always feel so grateful for those close to me, my friends, my family. I am sure you have had company and had to clean the house before they arrive. Then when your house is neat and sparkling, you stop and think, “thank God for company or this house would never get clean”, or “we should have company more often.”   Well at the holiday time I feel reflective like that.  The holidays come around and I think, “wow, am I lucky, I have the best family ever.”  I get that warm glow inside from feeling so loved and loving them back.  I appreciate my family once more and realize  just how lucky I am to have them all in my life.  Each one of them adds something special to the family.

I come from a large family, 6 kids, now 5.  There are 4 of us that are usually able to be together at Christmas despite our distant geographical locations.  We were always a close knit family.  How blessed I am that we are still able to maintain being a close family.  Our parents are gone so it is just us siblings.  As I get older I feel I appreciate them more, perhaps clinging on to what I have, knowing time is limited.  We have this wonderful tradition that we have shared with our children, and hopefully they will carry on this tradition of sticking together as a tight knit family.

The holidays are just a wonderful time to be reflective of how blessed you are and appreciate your family and friends.  I hope you had an amazing holiday, whatever you celebrate.  Whether you spent it with just a friend, your family, or your beloved pets, we all have things to be grateful for.  We just have to open our eyes.

